The history of the Ciechocinek springs dates back to very distant times. However, the records from the 13th century are considered to be the oldest. In 1235, Duke Konrad I of Mazovia issued a document, in which he gave two salt works to the Teutonic Order he brought to the region, for which he (the Order) was obliged to provide salt deputies to the Duke's and Bishop's courts.
When, after the First Partition of Poland, Wieliczka and Bochnia, towns rich in salt deposits, found themselves under Austrian rule, the salt springs of Słońsk and Ciechocinek drew the attention of the competent offices of the new administration. On the initiative of Stanisław Staszic, who was the right hand of the Minister of Treasury of the Kingdom of Poland - Prince Franciszek Ksawery Drucki-Lubecki, a project of obtaining salt from brine sources was created. The undertaking was inspired by an economic activist Konstanty Leon Wolicki.
In 1830 a large salt brewing plant was built in the parish of Sólno. Between 1824 and 1833 the first two graduation towers were built, and in 1859 one more. they became an industrial-scale salt production plant.
The breakthrough date in the history of Ciechocinek was the year 1836, when four copper baths were installed in the local inn. The brine baths were then used by 120 people. This gave rise to the Spa Institution, which was the beginning of the spa. From that year on, the town began to gain fame as a health resort. New baths were built, in an ever increasing number.
In Warsaw the "Committee for the Planning of Means of Erection of the Mineral Water Works in Ciechocinek" was established. Dr. Roman Ignatowski, who had been working on the development of the spa for more than fifty years, started his work in the Spa. Ciechocinek became more and more popular. Houses, villas and guesthouses were built for more and more numerous patients coming here.
The main issues for the city were the construction of a railroad siding to the Warsaw-Bydgoszcz railroad (1867), the construction of a dike (1872), and a water intake in Kuczek as well as bringing it to Ciechocinek through a water supply system (1894). The resort was growing and developing further, with many prominent visitors coming to town. Ciechocinek flourished, and attracted guests by the beauty of its parks and squares. Its popularity increased in the country and abroad.All this resulted in the city rights being granted to the locality in 1916.
In the 1930s Ciechocinek began to transform into a garden town.
It was turned into a big military hospital for the Germans. During the German occupation, the town also served as a health resort, but only for German citizens. German specialists comparing local salt springs with those in the Reich rated their quality very highly, and called thermal spring No. 14 "a natural miracle". After the liberation on January 21, 1945, the spa was quickly reactivated. Fortunately, the war did not cause great destruction. Despite the attempts of the occupants to blow the town's facilities up, the most important ones remained intact including the baths, the railway station and the church.
After 1950 all-year therapeutic activities began.
The city developed particularly intensively in the late fifties, in the sixties and seventies. A number of sanatoriums and preventoriums were established.
Nowadays, Ciechocinek still attracts patients and holidaymakers not only because of its healing qualities, but also its picturesque location, the greenery of numerous squares and parks, the pleasant and cozy climate of cafes, the noise of fountains, the seriousness of the graduation tower, the charm of many walking routes. Since 1998, the visitors can enjoy the renovated building of the Summer Theater, which hosts various cultural events of the city. Currently Ciechocinek fully deserves the noble name of the "Pearl of Polish Health Resorts" and is one of the most popular spa towns in Poland.